Skip to main content

Introduction and Overview

Welcome! This professional development initiative will introduce you to the model of instruction known as the Gradual Release of Responsibility (GRR) Framework for Active Learning. The GRR is a four-step teaching method designed to foster student collaboration and create active learning environments. But before we get into the nuts and bolts of how the GRR is implemented, let’s talk a bit about why the GRR is valuable.

GRR title image

The Gradual Release of Responsibility is a dynamic instructional model that moves from teacher knowledge to student understanding and application through four interrelated phases.

Click through the following slideshow to get a sense of how the GRR can enhance your teaching.

Speaker plays audio

Understanding the Gradual Release
of Responsibility Framework

black and white photo of teacher in front of students at desks

The era of the passive classroom, in which teachers lecture and students listen silently, is over.

Close-up of Jasmine talking to the camera

Instead, today’s ideal classroom is an active one, where each student is fully engaged and participating, as teachers and students collaborate to solve problems together. Gradual Release of Responsibility is a four-step model that focuses on student collaboration, engagement and curiosity.

Wide shot of Jasmine at a desk

The GRR framework has four components, which are described, in short, as
“I do it”; “We do it”; “You do it together” and “You do it alone.” This module will walk through each step, and offer tips on how you can implement this framework into your classroom.

Module Objectives

In this module, you will:

  • Become familiar with the four phases of the GRR framework: Focused Instruction (“I do it”); Guided Instruction (“We do it”); Collaborative Learning (“You do it together”); and Independent Leaning (“You do it alone”).
  • Learn how to implement each phase of the GRR framework.
  • Understand how the GRR framework aligns with the Maryland College and Career Ready Standards; STEM Standards of Practice; the Next Generation Science Standards; and the College, Career, and Civic (C3) Life for Social Studies State Standards.